LUTV Blog 3

by davidamelotti

There is a certain satisfaction when your friends and family share how proud they are of you. That was an experience I had this past week when I was able to share my first package online on Facebook. I’ve always been cautious about sharing audio from radio shows, promos and sweepers from the radio, and my work since transferring to Lindenwood because I didn’t want people to think I am arrogant. Really, I think I was intimidated by how others would perceive me. What if something I thought was really good was actually terrible and I got called out? I guess that may always be a possibility with the field of work I am trying to participate in.

Instead of criticism, I had dozens of friends and family share their excitement. People are saying I look professional, a girl likes the sound of my voice (I’m sorry, I’m in a committed relationship), both of my Aunt’s are thrilled. I’ve always tried to be really out going but I would be foolish to ignore that it has been a defense mechanism at times. I’m self conscious. To be embraced about doing something well that people enjoyed; that’s cool!

Anchoring is maybe the aspect of news broadcasting that the Super Semester students were most excited about at the beginning of the semester. Why shouldn’t they be? They get face time on the camera, they are recognized when at the grocery store, most seem to be beautiful, and the assumption is they are financially stable beyond the average middle class citizen. What we have all come to learn, it is far more difficult than just reading. I have anchored three times and I have noticed progress but that has been clouded by frustration.

There is a difference between reading a book and then reading something on live broadcast. With a background in radio, I believe my ability to speak and read on television is acceptable for this stage of my life: a student getting his first true taste of television. The frustration arises from a lack of patience when watching our newscasts knowing visually, I have a lot of work. Genetics gave me the face I have today and much can’t be done about that. For a 5’7” Italian, 21-year-old from South County, I believe genetics has done me well. What I’m really referring to is my facial expressions. This is so annoying because in everyday conversation I feel as though I contort my face non-stop.

For my third newscast as anchor, I felt my reads were decent for the most part. Some more emotion is making its way into my voice I believe but I still felt while reading that viewers may be bored. That may be the worst thought to cross your mind while on live television. I had to re-shoot two stories for a reason I truly don’t remember. To be honest, that day was a blur as I was both anchor and sports. In truth, that isn’t really all that difficult as it is just a few extra stories to read but there may have been no sports tease, and I may not have recognized that was the spot for the sports tease…so I may have just stood there for 20 seconds and smiled. Well, at least that time I didn’t read the weather tease…actually that was the same day…yes, I did that.

Third Day to Anchor - Peter Says I'm Finding My Voice

Myself anchoring with Jennifer Bruhn on LUTV. Peter says I’m finding my voice.

It was after the meeting concluded that we hold after each newscast where I got a boost of confidence. Peter Carlos is a man at LUTV who has always been very kind to me. He allowed me to be talent for the LU Football Halftime show last year and he has always been encouraging. On that day of pulling double duty, missing my tease, maybe not giving many facial expressions, Peter came up to me and told me he believes I am finding my voice. I took that as I did well…or maybe I was sloppy and he was trying to keep me from beating myself up. We are going to say it was a heartfelt compliment and it really has given me motivation to get back behind the desk and possibly wow the others.

I have made one package which means I have about 6 to go which may cause you to panic once it becomes common knowledge that we are currently in the middle of the semester. That is no joke, this week is midterms. You think no big deal, I say Mass Communications Law. That fear you sense, it’s real. Ahead for me is a package on St. Charles County Breweries and their Fall line ups. I’m so excited! In the back of my mind though…I feel a hard news package in my future and that is rather intimidating. I’m starting to get this confidence that I could make things happen in television. We’ll see.

Meet The Team

Looking at these various scenes, maybe the idea of being on television isn’t as much of a dream anymore. Maybe a reality after all…

